1 Corinthians 9:24-25 – “Stay In The Race”!

Good morning God;s people, today is a repost of June 28, 2011.
ENJOY! STAY IN THE RACE!

1 Corinthians 9:24-25-Stay In The Race

Posted by Minister Aiken, June 28, 2011

In this text, Apostle Paul metaphorically describes the Christian Journey as a race. One that has to be fought until the end. In hopes of winning the race, the runner has to be motivated, he or she must have self control and they must exercise. These things are necessary to obtain the prize that awaits the winner at the end of the race.

Regardless if a person is an athlete or a Christian, there are several things necessary to obtaining the prize. One is motivation.

Motivation- It is necessary. It determines your reason for running. Some run to win, some run for health reasons. The successful athlete is motivated by the gold medal, a perishable crown, while on the other hand, the Christian runs to obtain the “Crown” of Life that is non perishable.

What motivates you as a Christian who runs the race of faith? Is it to obtain the prize of eternal life in Christ Jeus at the end of the race? If so, then self-control plays a big role in you obtaining that prize. Successful athletes exercise self control in such things as their diet, the amount of sleep they get, they follow the training schedule that they have been given and often deny themselves of a lot of social activities, but instead, uses that time to train.

The Holy Spirit is given to us to help us, but it does not remove the struggles and temptations that comes against us in its attempt to make us give up and fall out of the race. That is why daily meditation, study of God’s Word and prayer is key in staying the course in this Christian race.

Why is spiritual maturity such hard work? Because of the pressures we deal with on a daily basis; i.e. the pressures of coworkers, friends, family members, wordly pleasures and a whole lot of other distractions that are enticing us to focus on it and abandon our goal of obtaining the “Crown” in Heaven that awaits all them that have fought the good fight in running the race that has been set before us.

Paul, once known as Saul of Tarsus, had to forget about his past as a persecutor of Christians in order to minister effectively and you and I must do the same.

Romans 3:23 declares–For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard. 1 John 1:8 declares –If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. Of course, we do not use these scriptures as an excuse to remain in sin or get off course. They are for the purpose of encouraging us to continue in the race without any feelings of guilt or shame.

I KNOW WITHOUT A DOUBT THAT STRIVING TO BE LIKE CHRIST IS MY GOAL!!

The prize that we daily strive to win can not be won by moral transformation (GOOD DEEDS OR WORKS), but only by Gospel transformation through the wonder working power of the Holy Spirit through the Gospel of Jesus Christ by faith.

Apostle Paul says in 2 Timothy 4:7-I have fought the good fight of faith, I have finished the race and I have kept the faith. How did Paul stay in the Christian race without being distracted or giving into worldly pleasures and temptations? Paul was sold out for Christ. He had a passion for Christ. There was no consideration for turning to the left or the right, Paul was looking ahead unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.

STAY IN THE RACE!!!!!!!!!! GOD IS CHEERING YOU ON. IF YOU LOOK AHEAD AND NOT BEHIND, YOU WILL SEE GOD’S SMILING FACE CHEERING YOU ON SAYING, RUN MY CHILD,RUN!!!!! WELL DONE MY GOOD AND FAITHFUL SERVANT!!!

STAY IN THE RACE!!

TELL GOD THANK YOU THAT THE END OF THE RACE IS STILL IN YOUR VIEW THIS MORNING!!!

GOD BLESS AND TELL THE LORD THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Minister Aiken

I am a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I received my call to preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ on Sunday, February 16, 2003 and I was licensed as a Minister on Sunday, December 30, 2007. I am an Associate Minister, Sunday School Teacher for Adult # 1 Class, Instructor for New Members Class, Youth Church Teacher, Senior Missionary, and Blogger. I have worked in the medical field for 31 years. I am the wife of one husband whom I have been married to for the last 27 years. Out of this union came one son. I have always been an advocate of God's Word even prior to salvation. Now that I am saved, I have taken it to another level with the help of the Holy Spirit. I am what others call "Radicle for Christ!" Yes, I LOVE JESUS! I started sending out daily devotional messages over 12 years ago via email. In March of 2011 the Lord told me that it was time for the daily devotionals to be taken to the world wide web. I did not understand how nor belive that God could use me for such a task as this, but thanks be to God who knows all things. I obeyed God and the rest was history. This ministry has truly been a blessing to the heart and soul of many that are saved and unsaved. Many lives have been changed, energized, transformed, restored, refreshed, and clansed by the Power of the Holy Spirit through God's spoken words from His Bible. Romans 10:14-15 - How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15-And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: "How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!" Truly, this Ministry is a blessing from God to mankind everywhere. No great works has any man done that he or she should boast! "TELL THE LORD THANK YOU" is indeed the Lord's will for you and I. God truly is an "AWESOME WONDER!" I love Him!! He is my Lord and Savior!!! Romans 8:31- If God be for you, who could be against you? It was Christ who died for us. 1 Thessalonian 5;18-Give thanks in all things for this is the Lord will concerning you and I in Christ Jesus. Matthew 6:33-But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto you.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Inspirational, Marriage, Motivational, Parenting, Salvation, SPIRITUAL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1 Corinthians 9:24-25 – “Stay In The Race”!

  1. I nominated you for the Sunshine Blog Award which is given to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” Please see my site for instructions about the award. God Bless!

  2. Michael says:

    Hello sister,

    Thank you so much for thinking of me. You know I have been battling my former employer in a discrimination action for a few months. I wish I had the space to tell you of all the things I have watched Him do in the depositions!

    I prayed and sought God’s guidance long before these proceedings were scheduled. I also knew that before the foundation of the world He had already been there! The thing was already done.

    I was truly amazed at the lies that were being told about me. But God’s word is true, “no weapon that is formed against me shall prosper”. Every time they brought up some trumped up allegation by His grace I was able to refute it in writing!

    He has done so much I wish I could tell you all of it. But I will say this, God will never let down those that trust Him. I believe He will move heaven and earth to see to that His word is performed for those who refuse not to trust Him. He is a rewarder of those that diligently seek Him.

    He is using me to help others and be a blessing and I am so glad to be useful to Him. Sister sometimes my love for Him is so overwhelming I want to cry. I see so many hurting people who run to everything and everyone but Christ. I pray for all of Christendom constantly. God will sustain us, He will do what He promised! What a great and mighty God we serve!!

  3. Great message again, Debra! You truly encourage us all with your messages of truth.

Leave a Reply

