Hebrews 12:1-2 – “God Must Be Your Focus”

Hebrews 12:1-2 – Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith.

God is calling us to put our focus on Him. He is calling us to make “pleasing God first” our goal in life. Matthew 6:33 – But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

We are called to “looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.”

If we do this, we will, with the help of the Holy Spirit, rid ourselves of all the things of this world that so easily beset us. Those things that are hindering our relationship with God the Father. I do not have to name them, you know what they are. Those things that bring upon conviction when you do them.

Why should we keep our focus on God? God has a plan for our lives.
Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Romans 6:6 – Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.

If we are to hold out until the end on this Christian journey, we must look to Jesus, who is the author and finisher of our faith.

There are other forces around us, and even inside us, pulling us away from God. It is a reality that we must face. When we start to focus on the many things to do around us that are not of God, we can easily lose our focus on God. We have to choose our focus in life on a daily basis.

The world encourages us to focus on it and take what it offers, but we are exhorted on today to cast off (throw off) every weight that so easily beset us and place our focus on Christ, who is the author and finisher of our faith.

When we focus on God, we forget about the past hurts, pains and disappointments. We are then able to focus on the promises of God that is written in His Word. Apostle Paul wrote these words of wisdom to help encourage us to move forward. To take our focus off of what was or what should have been and place them on God.

When our focus is on the past, we are not able to receive the things that God has for us in the present, nor the future.

When our focus is on God, we are wise in our decision making, the places we go, the things we do, the people we fellowship with, the things we say, the things we hear and the places we go. All with the Help of the Holy Spirit who is our comforter, guide and our teacher, we will be able to stay focus on God.

Remember, Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith! SEEK HIM! LET YOUR FOCUS BE ON HIM AND HIS WILL FOR YOUR LIFE ON TODAY!

God bless and do remember to tell the Lord thank you.

I love you all with the love of Christ.

Debra

About Minister Aiken

I am a Minister of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I received my call to preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ on Sunday, February 16, 2003 and I was licensed as a Minister on Sunday, December 30, 2007. I am an Associate Minister, Sunday School Teacher for Adult # 1 Class, Instructor for New Members Class, Youth Church Teacher, Senior Missionary, and Blogger. I have worked in the medical field for 31 years. I am the wife of one husband whom I have been married to for the last 27 years. Out of this union came one son. I have always been an advocate of God's Word even prior to salvation. Now that I am saved, I have taken it to another level with the help of the Holy Spirit. I am what others call "Radicle for Christ!" Yes, I LOVE JESUS! I started sending out daily devotional messages over 12 years ago via email. In March of 2011 the Lord told me that it was time for the daily devotionals to be taken to the world wide web. I did not understand how nor belive that God could use me for such a task as this, but thanks be to God who knows all things. I obeyed God and the rest was history. This ministry has truly been a blessing to the heart and soul of many that are saved and unsaved. Many lives have been changed, energized, transformed, restored, refreshed, and clansed by the Power of the Holy Spirit through God's spoken words from His Bible. Romans 10:14-15 - How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15-And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: "How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!" Truly, this Ministry is a blessing from God to mankind everywhere. No great works has any man done that he or she should boast! "TELL THE LORD THANK YOU" is indeed the Lord's will for you and I. God truly is an "AWESOME WONDER!" I love Him!! He is my Lord and Savior!!! Romans 8:31- If God be for you, who could be against you? It was Christ who died for us. 1 Thessalonian 5;18-Give thanks in all things for this is the Lord will concerning you and I in Christ Jesus. Matthew 6:33-But seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hebrews 12:1-2 – “God Must Be Your Focus”

  1. Lyn Leahz says:

    Amen Sister Debra! What a powerful post! There are too many things to pull our focus away, and this is purposeful (Ephesians 6:10-20) in order to draw us away from YHVH (God)! The family of Christ needs to pull together now more than ever and say, “As for me and my house, we WILL serve the Lord!”

  2. Thank you Debra for writing this. What a blessing it is to me!

    The central idea seems to be: ” Is there anything that weakens your commitment to keep Christ first in your life? If so, cast it off!” It is so incredibly simple and straightforward that it cannot be ignored nor discounted. And it is perfectly true! There is nothing more important than putting Jesus first!

    How easily we are distracted from that truth.

    Thanks for writing just what I needed to hear, and God bless you!

    John

    • Amen John.

      It is always wonderful hearing from you. As I stated before, I feel the spirit of the Holy Ghost in your writing and words.

      Truly, I must say that I know that God is with you John. The presence of God’s anointing on your life is felt through your writing.

      God bless and continue to be that humble vessel that God can and sure nuff will use.

      Bless you my brother.

      Love ya.
      Debra

      • Lyn Leahz says:

        I’ve always heard that the priority list should begin with God, then your spouse, your family, and so forth. However, as your article mentions, the Lord in the center..I feel that instead of ordering our priorities in a step by step way, we should put God in the center of every aspect of our lives; more like a circle…He’s in the center and everything else is centered around Him. Thanks for another insightful article Minister Aiken, and for sharing your knowledge. I truly enjoy reading all of your posts.

      • Amen!

        To God be all the glory!

        God bless!

        Debra

  3. The Lord knows what we need to hear and EXACTLY when we need to hear them. I googled Heb 12 and your web page came up. What Satan doesnt know is that God schedules every minute of our days. I am struggling with the sin of “gluttony” (not talked about in the church enough). This ministered to me B’cuz of what you said. Thank you!

    • Praise God Shari.

      I am glad God allowed you to find what was needed on this site on today. Our God is truly an “AWESOME WONDER”!
      “Divine Providence” is all I could say!

      Let us continue to pray and keep our Leaders lifted up before God in hopes that they will preach the “truth” – Gospel of Jesus Christ in season and out of season.

      God bless you and thanks for stopping by.

      Debra

Leave a Reply

